I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Department of Cultural Affairs


  • In the year 1987 an independent Department of Cultural Affairs was created by the Government of Assam. In course of time, the Directorate of Cultural Affairs, Directorate of Museum, Directorate of Archaeology, Directorate of Library Services, Jyoti Chitraban (Film Studio) Society, Assam State Film (Finance & Development) Corporation and Srimanta Sankaradeva Kalakshetra Society came under the purview of Cultural Affairs Department. The Cultural Affairs Department also has three institutions of learning (a) Government College of Art & Crafts (b) Luit Konwar Rudra Barua State College of Music and (c) Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Regional Govt. Film and Television Institute.

    The Mandate of the Department of Culture is to preserve and promote all forms of art & culture.

    The department of Culture undertakes the activities that follow from the Cultural Policy adopted by the Government of Assam on 2nd January, 2006, Vide No. CAD 281/2003/23.

    The culture of Assam has been a living culture for the last 5000 years having its own blending, ever flowing and ever changing form.